Jan 18, 2017

Review: Baby Doll

Baby Doll Baby Doll by Hollie Overton
My rating: 5 of 5 stars


Book description after review.

REVIEW by Aunt Meanie

aby Doll ***** Review 1- 15-2017/tcg
By Hollie Overton

This book was non-stop awesome. From the first sentence, it had me hooked and I couldn’t put the book down. I stayed up all night and finished the book at 8 AM the next morning. Yes, it was that good.

The story embraces all the human emotions; joy, love, hate, fear, confusion, despair, hope, and the ever binding “twin-ship”.

“Escape was just the beginning”. Doesn’t sound like much as a sentence. Until you read the story. Then it becomes such a powerful, all encompassing sentence. It means so much more than it seems. There is a lifetime in that one sentence.

Abby and Lily are identical twins and their lives reflect all that being a twin involves. 1 set of shared DNA, 1 egg that decided to split into 2. The bond of a twin is almost like 1 soul that occupies 2 bodies.

When Lily is kidnapped at age 16, twin Abby's life falls apart. Abby is completely lost without her other half. Life isn’t the same, can never be the same and at times Abby thought life was not worth living. Abby spirals through depression, alcohol, drugs and attempted suicide.

Lily, kidnapped at age 16, held hostage, repeatedly beaten, raped and tortured for 8 years. Her kidnapper thinks he has broken her spirit, thinks he has created his perfect “Baby Doll”. He is mistaken. So badly mistaken.
Lily's escape, after 8 years…… is just the beginning.
The story takes the reader through the experience of a family united. A twin come home. All the hope, dreams, confusion, complications and the ever present fear that it will never really “end”.
I loved the book and recommend it to anyone over age 16.

I received this book free to provide an honest review.


BOOK DESCRIPTION:

For fans of Gone Girl and Girl on the Train, Baby Doll is the most tense thriller you will read this year.

Held captive for eight years, Lily has grown from a teenager to an adult in a small basement prison. Her daughter Sky has been a captive her whole life. But one day their captor leaves the deadbolt unlocked.

This is what happens next...

...to her twin sister, to her mother, to her daughter...and to her captor.


View all my reviews

No comments:

Post a Comment

The Trail of Ted Bundy: Digging Up The Untold Stories By Kevin Sullivan

    **** The Trail of Ted Bundy: Digging Up the Untold Stories By: Kevin Sullivan   This is an excellent expansion-companion ...