Aug 7, 2014

Review: V is for Villain


V is for Villain
V is for Villain by Peter Moore

My rating: 4 of 5 stars



Book description:

Brad Baron is used to looking lame compared to his older brother, Blake. Though Brad's basically a genius, Blake is a superhero in the elite Justice Force. And Brad doesn't measure up at his high school, either, where powers like super-strength and flying are the norm. So when Brad makes friends who are more into political action than weight lifting, he's happy to join a new crew-especially since it means spending more time with Layla, a girl who may or may not have a totally illegal, totally secret super-power. And with her help, Brad begins to hone a dangerous new power of his own.

But when they're pulled into a web of nefarious criminals, high-stakes battles, and startling family secrets, Brad must choose which side he's on. And once he does, there's no turning back.

Perfect for fans of The Avengers, Ironman, and classic comic books, V is for Villain reveals that it's good to be bad.


REVIEW:

I will be honest. when I started reading V is for Villain, I almost instantly hated the "Hero" kids. They were mostly just a bunch of bullies... Especially Brad's brother Blake who thinks he is so important & is so high on his ego that he doesn't care what may be behind the reasons he gets to be violent with the "bad guys" & he also feels entitled to boss and bully and constantly humiliate his own brother Brad just because Brad isn't a super strong human. I would get so aggravated because too often real life teaches us that no matter how good we do, there is too often a jealous sibling (or others) trying to constantly knock us down our whole lives. It is as if they have to belittle you to feel their own importance. Brad has decided that he does not have to feel useless and ashamed the way his bully brother needs him to feel.

I liked that we could get more into Brad's typical teen thoughts via the footnotes and loved that things did look up for him because of his super intelligence. Brad figures out many things that will hopefully make his life easier and less humiliating, and with the help of a friend discovers a huge talent of his own to go with the super intelligence.

This book says a lot about sibling rivalry gone way too far, and the reasons many of the bullied become seen as villains and joyfully accept that title. I am happy to say that I was provided this book by the publishers for honest review. I might not have typically picked up a "superhero" book on my own. I am very glad to have had the pleasure of reading this Peter Moore creation and will look forward to more in the future.

Go Villians go!



View all my reviews

No comments:

Post a Comment

LISA'S REVIEW of The Pants Project by Cat Clark

        ****   LISA'S REVIEW OF    THE PANTS PROJECT   I was pleased to see this book in the Middle School age group. I...